MONMOUTH COUNTY CELEBRATES SILVER ANNIVERSARY League Formed in 1988



Front Row: Joe Hepworth, Butch Bennett, Charles Dember, Rich Kane, Emil Jeanette. Back Row: Tony Scourzo, Walt Freema, Bob Taylor, Russ Howell, Bob Wielenga, Ron Tomczyk, Joe Rosenberg & Roger Kane. Not Pictured: Charles Kelly, Rich Shutzer & Otis Wathington.

Spring is in the air and that marks the start of another great season of Monmouth County Senior Softball. The league is proud to celebrate its 25th year and Silver Anniversary first being established in 1988 by founders Howie Marlin and the late Al Mills.

There is nothing better than the sight of a bat, ball, and glove to get the juices flowing for some fun and friendly competition.

This year Monmouth County will sport twelve teams all playing their best and giving it their all.

Additionally, the Sixty and "Better" division has evolved adding players and expanding to five teams. Dave" the Duke" Fenwick has spearheaded the effort to organize the teams.

In the Fifty plus group rounding out the "Terrific Twelve" teams are:

- Higgins Freehold
- Boathouse Wall Twp.
- Clayton Limo Howell
- Blue Rock Cafe Aberdeen
- Builders General Little Silver
- Chapin Hill Long Branch
- Builders General Little Silver
 Lee's Garage Monmouth Beach
- Ocean Ocean
- Rebels Oakhurst
 Chubby Pickle Hi
- Chubby Pickle Highland
- Poss Construction Neptune
- Tuscany Marlboro

Especially noteworthy is team Higgins captained by Emil Jennette. Higgins has quite an illustrious and impressive history as follows:

- First season 1991 founder and first manager Bob Wielanga.
- Winners of first state tournament 1992 held in Bridgewater, NJ.
- Original sponsor Oh Brothers restaurant in Freehold.
- Higgins Funeral Home sponsor the last 19 years.
- Team has had just three managers.
- Emil Jennette will be starting his 19th year as player/manager.
- From 1991 up to 2012 team record is 484 wins and 122 loses in 606 game which include league Playoff and state tournament games.
- Team has won 15 league championships and 12 playoff championships. Six state tournaments in 1992, 1994, 1996 & 2002, 2003, 2004.

The Monmouth County Senior Softball league will ideally be around for generations to come standing always by its creed:

"You don't quit playing because you get old, you get old, because you quit playing!"

Or as I always like to say: "We all have to age but never get old." Now let's get on the field & play Ball! By; Neil Piper

HIGGINS 2012 MONMOUTH COUNTY

A Division League and Playoff Champions



Standing L to R: Jay Fox, Tom Wasko, Roman Bvszczak, John Gerenza, Glen Guy, Keith Lewis, Jeff Raymond, Tom Brenton, Bob Duncan, Gary Higley, Mike Domanski, Dave Warner & Mike DiBenedetto.

Kneeling L to R: Dennis Boutote, Emil Jennette, George Scott, Jim Alesclo & Bob Palle.

Final game of 2012 A Division playoffs.

Higgins down 7-1 after 3 innings, comes back to win the championship 10-8 to beat 507/Boathouse.



First NJSSA State Championship Trophy won by Oh Brothers (now Higgins), Freehold



This Past Year Senior Softball lost the following members.

Chet Kinal
John Vitello
Mike Kane
Jack Kelly

Brian Leslie • Joe Iorio

Tony Padovano • Mike Vaganek

In Memoriam

The following is a list of members of the New Jersey Senior Softball Association that have passed a<u>way.</u>

Joe Adelhardt John McCabe **Jim Airey Tom Madine** Ace Ancett Al Manning Nick Angelillo **Ed Manthey** Frank Arbolino Frank Martinelli Nick Atria **Dennis Miller** Jerry Baron Al Mills Larry Behr Patrick Moran Bill Blitz Tony Muccia **Dick Borman** Ken Nixon Tom Burke John Offerman Don Braun Ken Olson **Dick Bromberg** Armando Passarelli Chas A. Brown, Jr. Bruce Pelletier **Bob Canales Gerald Perpetua** Joe Capo **Al Perry** John McCarthy **Robert Postel** Al Carlson **Tom Price Flip Chambliss Jim Powell** Ed Chaven **Steve Regec Dennis Chmiel** Larry Rehak Joe Connelly John "Duke" Rensing **Mike Champion** Joe Riggio Dan Cox Joel Rosenberg **Bob Rowland Fred Daprile** Mike DeCeglia Don Roth John Denito Tony Russo Dom Deo Frank Scaliti Jerry McDermott Sonny Senerchia **Eugene Doyle** Art Shaffner Bob Durkin Barbara Schmidt Jim Schultz **Bill Errickson** Ray Fasteau Don Slocum Tom Fitzmaurice **Heshy Slotnick** Joe Gabel **Ed Stevens Pete Gergulas** Frank Sweeney Ed Ganczewski **Butch Taras** Harold Gelbhaus Ernie Tasseff **Frank Giglinto** Don Trifari Joe Hepworth Anthony Valeriani Jay Horacek Clyde Vail Jr. **Russ Howell** Jim VanBrunt Tony Hyman John Vereb Joe Kelly Lou Vespasiano **Bob Krause** Joe Viola Norm Lannone Pee Wee Vogel Tom Lapcynski John Williams Jerry Lestardo Lenny Yenish John McCarthy Lenny Youngron